Difference Between State and Union Territories of India

India is a country that has both states and union territories. The 36 state and union territories of India further subdivided into 29 states and 7 union territories.


States of India are the administrative units having their own governments,  own legislation and elected chief ministers as head of the government. The Governor of states acts as the representative of the President and states have large area compare to union territories.

Union Territories

Union Territories are ruled directly by the Central Government having an Lieutenant Governor as administrator, who is the representative of the President of India and appointed by the Central government.

Union Territories have no representation in the Rajya Sabha except Delhi and Puducherry.

Article 240 – Power of President to make regulations for certain Union Territories.

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  • Chandigarh
  • Daman and Diu
  • Lakshadweep
  • Puducherry
  • Delhi

Delhi and Puducherry operate differently from the other five Union Territories of India,  Both has partial statehood status and their own elected legislative assemblies.

Andaman and Nicobar islands was the first union territory of India, Chandigarh is the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana state of India.