Top Ten Biggest Sports Stadiums in India

India has a mix color of sports like famous guli danda to the International Cricket,though Cricket is heartbeat of Nation but Hockey is the nation game of India.Apart from the above two games India is home for second largest football stadium in the world named as Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata. Some of the multi purpose stadium has been constructed in India to boost the other Olympic sports. Here are list of biggest sports stadium in India capacity wise.

Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata

The Yuva Bharati Krirangan Stadium of Kolkata is a multi purpose stadium located at Bidhannagar, West Bengal. Salt Lake Stadium is the largest stadium in India and second largest football stadium in the world. It is Associated football with capacity of 120,000 and currently used for football matches and athletics. The elliptical shape Stadium is owned by Indian Football Association and also used for national athletics events in India.


Eden Gardens Stadium, Kolkata

Eden Gardens is one the International Cricket ground in India, located at Kolkata. The Eden Gardens is largest cricket stadium in India and second-largest in the world by seating capacity of 90,000. The Kolkata’s pride Eden Gardens Cricket Stadium is home to the Bengal cricket team as well as a witness of some of best Test, One Day International and Twenty20 International matches. The Eden Gardens Stadium is owned by Indian Army.


Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Delhi

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is the multipurpose sports stadium and one of the most important sports Stadium of Delhi. The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium of Delhi was the main stadium used for the major sporting events of XIX Commonwealth Games in 2010. It is the third largest multipurpose stadium in India in terms of seating capacity of 60,000 and extended up to 100,000 for concerts. The Stadium is owned by Indian Olympic Association.


DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai

The Dr. D. Y. Patil Stadium is a cricket stadium located in Nerul, Navi Mumbai with seating capacity of 60,000. It also has other facilities including 9 tennis hard courts, 4 indoor badminton courts and an Olympic sized swimming pool. Best feature of the stadium are cantilever roof and world;s first cricket stadium  to have concert level reinforced music system. DY Patil Stadium is one of best international cricket stadium in India with all the facilities and has been designed by India’s premier architects Hafeez Contractor.


Kaloor International Stadium, Kochi

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium or Kochi is one of the largest stadium in India in terms of seating capacity of 60,000. Originally the Stadium is constructed as a football stadium but It has host a number of international cricket matches. The stadium is also serve as venue for national events,important exhibitions and some time for political rallies as well. Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium is well known for unique lighting towers and owned by Greater Cochin Development Authority.


Raipur International Cricket Stadium, Raipur

The Chhattisgarh International Cricket Stadium is the latest cricket ground in India located in the city of Naya Raipur, Chhattisgarh. Raipur International Cricket Stadium is the one of the largest stadium in India with seats 65,000 spectators. International Standard cricket matches are yet to play with Indian team, though one match was played between Canada’s national cricket team and the State of Chhattisgarh team.


M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

The Electronics City  of India,Bangalore is home to one of the cricket stadiums of India The M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. M. Chinnaswamy Stadium is located in the heart of the city and regularly hosts Test cricket, One Day Internationals (ODI) and other First-class cricket matches along with musical and cultural events. The stadium has seating capacity of 55,000 and Owned by Government of Karnataka but operated by Karnataka State Cricket Association.


Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera

The premier Cricket stadiums of India is located in the Motera locality of Ahmedabad,Gujarat. Sardar Patel Stadium is also known as Motera Stadium, comes under the West Zone cricket and owned by Gujarat Cricket Association. The day-and-night games venue is equipped with good floodlights and has an official capacity of 54,000 spectators.


Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

The crucial cricket ground of Hyderabad is Visaka International Cricket Ground located in eastern suburb of the city Uppal. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium is one of the principal cricket ground of city and owned by Hyderabad Cricket Association. The big ground with exclusive cricket facility has a capacity of 55,000 spectators presently and extends to 65,000.


Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium, Pune

The MCA Pune International Cricket Center of Pune is now known as Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium. Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium is the youngest cricket Stadium in India located at Gahunje near Pune Mumbai Expressway with spectators capacity 55,000. It is ranked as one of the most advanced cricket stadium of India with features like rain water drainage system and other additional facilities for members including squash and badminton courts, a swimming pool, spa, restaurants and bars.


Other famous stadium of India are Feroz Shah Kotla,Wankhede Stadium,Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium Jamtha, Dharamshala Cricket Stadium, Mohali Cricket Ground and Nehru Stadium of Guwahati.