10 New Year and Harvest Festivals of Indian States

Harvest Festival is an annual celebration found at various times at different places in India. The 28 states of India celebrated its own Harvest festival,New Year and harvest festivals of Indian States celebrated on Makar Sankranti,Pongal,Onam, Holi new year,Cheiraoba New Year’s Day in Manipur,Navreh in Kashmir,Maha vishuva Sankranti in Odisha,Saal Mubarak, Maithili New Year, Tulu New year,Cheti Chand and Kodava New Year.

Gudi Padwa, Maharashtra, Goa


Gudi Padwa is the first day of the Chaitra month, beginning of the New year celebrated in Maharashtra. A gudi with stick displayed in out of a window or households in the state.

Ugadi, Karnataka,Telangana and Andhra Pradesh

Ugadi – Telugu- New -Year

Ugadi is the New Year’s day that begins with the month of Chaitra celebratedin Telangana, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka state. Gudi Padwa and Ugadi are celebrated on the same day.

Vishu, Kerala, Karnataka

Vishu festival marks the beginning of the harvest year. celebrated in the Indian state of Kerala. The festival of light and fireworks is the most important event in Kerala and devotees visit the Sabarimala Ayyappan Temple and Guruvayur Krishna temple.

Vaisakhi, Punjab

Vaisakhi or Baisakhi is the most religious festival in Sikhism,marks the Sikh new year. This harvest festival happened in the Punjab region and people gather to socialize and share festive foods.

Pohela Boishakh, West Bengal, Tripura

Pahela Baishakh in the Bengali New Year, celebrated with grandeur and colours in the state of West Bengal. The Bengali New Year is also considered to be an auspicious time for marriages.

Puthandu, Tamil Nadu

Puthandu known as Tamil New Year is celebrated on the first month of the Tamil solar calendar in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry. There are list of famous festivals are held at Tiruchirapalli, Kanchipuram,Tiruvidaimarudur near Kumbakonam.

Bohag Bihu, Assam, North East

Bohag- Bihu – Assamese -New -Year

Bohag Bihu also called Rangali Bihu is the harvest festival celebrated in the state of Assam and north eastern India, marks the beginning of the Assamese New Year.

Pana Sankranti, Odisha

Pana Sankranti or Maha Vishuva Sankranti marks the beginning of the New Year in the Odia calendar, generally falls on the 14th or 15th of April. Pana Sankranti is similar to New Year festivals such as Vaisakhi,Maithili New Year,Bisu Parba and Cheti Chand.

Jude Sheetal, Bihar, Jharkhand

Jude Sheetal also known as Maithili New Year, usually falls on 14 April on Gregorian calendar. Maithili New Year is a festive occasion celebrated by the Maithils in Bihar and Nepal.

Vikram Samvat, India

As per the Vikram Samvat Hindu calendar 2074, New year starts from the first day of  Chaitra month and also the Chaitra Navratri starts on the same day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like