The Great Divine Festival of 9 Nights of Devi and Shakti

Durga, the Mother Goddess of Hindu is the principle form of the Goddess known as Devi and Shakti. Durga the mahashakti is pure Shakti, having manifested herself for slaying of buffalo demon Mahisasura and that day also marks as the Victory of Good over Evil.जय माता दी!



Navaratri is a festival of nine nights dedicated to nine forms of Devi Durga and tenth day is commonly referred to as Vijayadashami or Dussehra. The festival is celebrated for nine nights once every year and days are known as follows.


Pratipada -Ghatasthapana
Dwitiya -Chandra Darshan
Tritiya -Sindoor Tritiya, Sowbhagya Teej
Chaturthi -Varad Vinayaka Chauth
Panchami -Lalita Panchami
Shashthi -Maha Shashti
Saptami -Maha Saptami
Ashtami -Durga Ashtami, Maha Ashtami
Navami -Khande Navami, Durga Visarjan, Maha Navami


Navadurga means nine forms of Goddess Durga,These nine forms of manifestation are manifestation of Parvati in nine different forms. Durga is a form of Devi and Shakti also known as the Navadurga or Nine Durgas.



Durga Puja

Durga Puja is also known as Durgotsava of the Hindu goddess Durga festival celebrated from the sixth to tenth days of Navaratri in West Bengal,Assam,Mithila region of Bihar, Jharkhand and Nepal. These places are known for theme -based pujas, big Durga Sculpture and pandals, here are few famous Durga puja pandals of Kolkata.


Bagbazar Durga Puja Pandal
Kumartuli Park Durga Pandal
College Square Pandal


Vijayadashami is one of the most important festival, celebrated across India referring to Lord Rama’s victory over the demon king Ravana. The tenth day of Navratri is commonly referred as Dussehra,marks the victory of Goddess Durga over the demon Mahishasur.


Bastar Dussehra
Mysore Dasara
Kullu Dussehra

Attractions of Nine Nights


The Nine Nights Navratri festival of India is one of the major tourist attraction and one of the biggest Hindu festival. Major tourist attractions of the festival includes Durga Puja Pandals,Mother Goddess Durga Sculpture,Durga puja Aarti dance of Bengal,Navratri Cuisines and traditional Garba Dance of Gujarat.

Durga Puja Aarti Dance
Garba Dance of Gujarat
Navratri  Dandiya Dance

Shakti Pithas

51 shakti-peethas

The Shakti Peetha is a place of worship of the goddess Shakti or Sati. As per the great religious Indian texts there are 4 Adi Shakti Pithas,18 Maha Shakthi Peetams and 52 Shakti Pithas are sprinkled throughout the Indian subcontinent.

4 Adi Shakti Pithas
18 Maha Shakthi Peetams
52 Shakti Pithas

Temples of Maa Durga


India is home to infinite temples of Goddess Maa Durga and these are very famous pilgrimage destination during the festival of Navaratri.

Vaishno Devi Temple, Jammu
Kamakhya Temple, Guwahati
Kalighat Kali Temple, West Bengal
Shanta Durga Temple, Goa
Ambaji Temple, Gujarat
Chintpurni Devi Temple,Himachal Pradesh
Karni Mata Temple, Bikaner
Kali Mataji Temple, Pavagadh
Katak Chandi Temple, Cuttack
Durgai Amman Temple, Patteeswaram
Saptashrungi Devi Temple, Nashik
Chamundeshwari Temple, Mysore
Kanaka Durga Temple, Vijayawada
Sharda Mata Temple, Maihar
Danteshwari Temple, Dantewada


Some of the well renowned temples of Maa Durga in India includes 18 Maha Shakthi Peetams, Major hill top temples of Maa Durga,9 Devi Temples of Chhattisgarh,Most Popular Durga Temples in India and 9 Devi Darshan Yatra of North India.

जय माता दी!
लाल रंग क़ी चुनरी से सजा माँ का दरबार, हर्षित हुआ मन, पुलकित हुआ संसार, नन्हे -नन्हे कदमो से माँ आये आपके द्वार, मुबारक हो आपको नवरात्री का त्यौहार

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like