Kendra Shasit Pradesh – 8 Union Territories of India

As of 2020 there are eight union territories or Kendra Shasit Pradesh in India, the state of Jammu and Kashmir now reorganised into two union territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli are not merge into a single union territory to be known as Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

How many Union Territories are there in India by 2020

There are 8 Union territories in India by 2020 – Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Puducherry, Chandigarh, Lakshadweep (Kavaratti) and Andaman & Nicobar Islands (Port Blair).

National Capital Territory of Delhi

The National Capital Territory of Delhi covers an area of 1,484 square kilometres and second wealthiest city, second-most productive metro area and also has second-highest GDP per capita in India.


Chandigarh is a union territory and capital of the states of Punjab and Haryana. The city of Chandigarh is directly governed by the Union Government and is the one of the cleanest in India, has one of the highest per capita incomes and one of the happiest city in India.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu – Daman

The union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu are now merged to become one union territory in western India, effect on 26 January 2020. The four cities of Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu are located between the states of Gujarat and Maharashtra.



Ladakh region became a union territory in 2019 and renowned for its cold mountain beauty and passes. The Union territory of Ladakh is also the highest plateau in India, Home to high altitude desert, winter snowfall, glaciers, famous Chadar trek and list of highest motorable roads.

What is the capital of Ladakh?

Leh and Kargil both will serve as the the capital of Ladakh, Leh is largest town in Ladakh and also the second largest district of India. Kargil town of Ladakh is home to endangered species of wildlife like snow leopard, Asiatic ibex, Himalayan brown bear and Tibetan wolf.

Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir is dissolved as a state and now reorganised as a union territory, Tourism is one of the major factor in the economy along with Horticulture of fruits like apples, berries, cherries, apricots, pears, peaches, plums, almonds and walnuts. The region of Jammu and Kashmir is home to several valleys like Kashmir Valley, Chenab Valley and major tourist attractions in Jammu and Kashmir includes Gulmarg, Patnitop,holy shrines of Mata Vaishno Devi and Amarnath.



The Union Territory of Puducherry is the most popular tourist spot in India for French tourists, home to number of colonial buildings and unique mix of cultural heritage. Puducherry is also a very popular weekend destination from Chennai and Bangalore, also draws tourists from around the world.


Lakshadweep is a group of Laccadive islands and the smallest Union Territory of India with an area of 32.62 km2. Kavaratti is the capital city of Lakshadweep, A popular tourist destination in India and known for its pristine white sand beaches, water sports, sea swimming and coral reefs.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands


The Andaman and Nicobar Islands was listed as the first union territory of India, comprises two island groups of Andaman and Nicobar. Port Blair is the capital city of the territory and the islands are still home to the Sentinelese tribes an uncontacted people.

Sea beaches are the major tourist attractions in Andaman islands along with monuments like Cellular Jail,most spectacular beaches, tropical islands like Ross and Havelock Island.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like