Sapta Puri-The Seven Most Sacred Cities of India

Saptapuri means Seven holy cities in Hinduism include Ayodhya, Mathura, Haridwar, Kashi, Ujjain, Dwaraka and Kanchi. Nashik,Allahabad and Rishikesh are also considered as holy city of India.

अयोध्या मथुरा माया काशी काञ्ची अवन्तिका ।
पुरी द्वारावती चैव सप्तैता मोक्षदायिकाः॥



Ayodhya is one of the ancient city of India, also known as Saket and the birthplace of Lord Rama. The city is located on the bank of Sarayu river in Uttar Pradesh, Ayodhya is one of seven holy places for Hindus in India.



Mathura is another holy city for Hinduism in India, located near other most famous town of Vrindavan and Govardhan in Uttar Pradesh. The city of Mathura is the birthplace Lord Krishna and it has many historic and religious importance in Mathura and its neighbouring towns.



Haridwar is one of the seven holiest places to Hindus and one of four sites of Kumbha Mela,situated on the bank of holy river the Gange. Haridwar is an important pilgrimage city, famous for its temples Mansa Devi Temple, Chandi Devi Temple,Maya Devi Temple and Bharat Mata Mandir.


Varanasi-The oldest city of India

Varanasi or Kashi is one of the India’s oldest living city and one of the holiest city in India, situated on the banks of the Ganges river. Varanasi is the spiritual capital of India, famous for its Ghats,Temples and Music.



Kanchi or Kanchipuram is located on the banks of the Vegavathy river in Tamil Nadu,Its a holy pilgrimage site and one of the seven Sacred Indian cities. Kanchipuram is famous among the Saivites and Vaishnavites for its temples such as Ekambareswarar Temple, Kamakshi Amman Temple,Kailasanathar Temple and the Vaikunta Perumal Temple.



Ujjain also known as Ujjayini or Avantika is situated on the bank of the Kshipra river and one of the four sites that host the Kumbh Mela. The Holy City of Ujjain is home to the Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga, one of the 12 Jyotirlinga of the god Lord Shiva.



Dwarka is one of the seven most ancient cities in India, located in the Jamnagar of Gujarat. The Holy City of Dwarka is one of the holiest cities in Hinduism and part of the Char Dham Yatra along with Badrinath, Puri and Rameswaram.


  • sang says:

    Werz puri and Tirupati………. we don’t want north Indians faking their Greatness….

    • Shashi says:

      South indian discriminate themselves , they themselves consider inferior to north indian, they have a inferiority complex because they think they are black and north Indian not. Here nobodies faking their greatness ,, this isall in your head

    • Anand Iyer says:

      The PerumAL who is standing beautifully in Tirupati appeared as Krishna in Mathura and ruled in Dvarka and Rama in Ayodhya. These 7 cities appear in VEdam. No point criticising. That doesn’t reduce the greatness of South Indian Holy places. Puri comes in chardham. Tirupati comes in 108 Divyadesams. All places are glorious.

  • Deva says:

    It is wonderful place

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like