12 Must Visit God Sun Temples of India

Surya means the Sun, God Sun is one of the nine Navagraha in India and the temples were built by different cultures and kings. Two most prominent sun temple in India are the Konark Sun Temple and the Sun Temple at Modhera.

Sun Temple, Konark


Konark Sun Temple of Odisha is a world heritage site and also listed as one of the Seven Wonders of India. The temple is built in shape of a gigantic chariot and stone wheels,  first rays of sunrise strikes the principal entrance in the temple.

Sun Temple, Modhera


Sun Temple at Modhera is situated on the bank of the Pushpavati river in Mehsana district of Gujarat. The temple complex has stepwell,Pillars,torana and Garbhagriha.

Sun Temple, Martand


Martand Sun Temple is located five miles from Anantnag city of Jammu and Kashmir. The temple is now in ruins but the site is listed as national importance in Jammu and Kashmir and protected monuments of India.

Sun Temple, Gwalior

Sun Temple of Gwalior is dedicated to the Sun god and one of the must see tourist attractions Of Gallant Gwalior. This holy temple is similar to the Sun temple of Konark and among the famous pilgrimage centres in the city.

Sun Temple, Unao

Sun Temple at Unao in Madhya Pradesh is famous and rare sun temple in India,situated in Unao town of Datia district. The temple is known for unique architecture and design.

Sun Temple, Ranchi


Sun Temple in Ranchi is one of the must visit place in Ranchi and among the top tourist attractions of Jharkhand. The temple is situated about 39 km from Ranchi on Tata-Ranchi road.

Sun Temple, Katarmal

Katarmal Surya Temple is situated inside the the thick deodars forest of Kumaon hills near Almora. Surya temple of Katarmal is an monument of national importance and noted for its magnificent carved pillars and wooden doors.

Surya Pahar Temple, Assam

Surya Pahar is an ancient sun worship center and the complex has several rock-cut Shivalingas,sculpture of twelve-armed Vishnu and remains of the Ganesha and Hari Hara. The Sun Temple is located near Goalpara town and one of the least known archaeological site in Assam.

Surya Narayana Temple, Domlu

Surya Narayana Temple in Domlu is located in Bangalore city and amongst the top 12 famous Sun God Temples in India. The Surya temple is situated in Domlur, 8 Km from center of Bangalore city.

Sun Temple, Gaya

Dakshinaarka Sun temple in Gaya is an ancient Sun temple and has been mentioned in the epics. This temple was very popular in the Magadha region and images of Sun God Aditya are found in Gaya.

Suryanar Temple, Kumbakonam

Suryanar Temple also called as Suryanar Kovil Temple is the historic temples dedicated to Sun god and one of the nine Navagraha temples in Tamil Nadu. The temple also has shrines for all the planetary deities.

Surya Narayana Temple, Arasavalli

Arasavalli sun temple is located in Srikakulam district of Andhra Pradesh and one of the most highly visited temple in the region. Shri Surya Narayana Swami Temple is among the famous Sun temples in our country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like