Heritage Arc Tourist Circuit of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh Government has created Uttar Pradesh Heritage Arc to boost the tourism in the state. The Heritage Arc Tourist Circuit of Uttar Pradesh covering the cities of Agra, Lucknow and Varanasi.

Tourism in Uttar Pradesh also include Ayodhya and Mathura, birthplace of Lord Rama and Lord Krishna,holy cities of Varanasi and Allahabad as well as important Buddhist places Kushinar and Sarnath.



Agra is a major international tourist destination on the banks of the river Yamuna, known for Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri. All these three sites are UNESCO World Heritage Sites and part of the Uttar Pradesh Heritage Arc tourist circuit. Other beautiful Mughal buildings in Agra also include:

  • Taj Mahal
  • Agra Red Fort
  • Fatehpur Sikri
  • Akbar’s Tomb
  • Itmad Ud Daulah
  • Dayal Bagh Temple



Lucknow is the center of Uttar Pradesh Heritage Arc and also an important centre of governance and tourism. The city has always been known for quality of life and India’s second happiest city after Chandigarh.

  • Bara Imambara
  • Rumi Darwaza
  • Chhota Imambara
  • Ambedkar Park
  • Gomti Marine Drive


Varanasi-The oldest city of India

Varanasi or Banaras is the holiest of the seven sacred cities in India, located on the banks of the Ganges. The city is home to famous Kashi Vishwanath Temple of Shiva, the Sankat Mochan Hanuman Temple and the Durga Temple.

  • Kashi Vishwanath Temple
  • Durga Temple
  • Sankat Mochan Hanuman Temple
  • Ramnagar Fort
  • Jantar Mantar
  • Dashashwamedh Ghat
  • Parshvanath Jain Temple

Varanasi or Kashi has at least 84 ghats which are important pilgrimage sites. Dashashwamedh Ghat is the most spectacular ghat in Varanasi, located close to Kashi Vishwanath Temple and place for Ganga aarti in Varanasi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like