12 Indian Cities Under PRASAD Scheme to Promote Tourism

PRASAD – National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive

India is land of many religions and having their major pilgrimage centers in different parts of the country. The growth of domestic tourism largely depends on pilgrimage tourism, therefore the government decided to launch a national mission on pilgrimage rejuvenation and spiritual augmentation drive.

1. Kedarnath


Kedarnath town is located about 3,583 m high in the Himalayas on the bank of river Mandakini. The Kedarnath Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and part of the 12 Jyotirlingas Temple in India.

2. Amritsar


Amritsar is known for the the Harmandir Sahib, commonly known as the Golden Temple and also home to may sites of historic,spiritual and cultural significance like Wagah border, Jallianwala Bagh and Durgiana Temple.

3. Amaravati

Amaravati is a city located in Guntur district of Andhra Pradesh and will be the India’s first satellite city. Amaravati is sacred to Buddhist and famous for Amaralingeswara Swamy Shiva Temple and Amaravathi Mahachaitya stupa.

4. Ajmer

Ajmer city of Rajasthan is surrounded by the Aravalli Mountains and a pilgrimage centre for the shrine of the Sufi Saint Khwaja Moinuddin Chishti. The city of Ajmer has been selected as one of the PRASAD city and also HRIDAY heritage city by Government of India.

5. Dwaraka


The city of Dwarka is one of the four site of CharDham and also one of the seven most ancient religious cities of India. The ancient kingdom of Lord Krisha is also part of the Krishna Tourist Circuit and PRASAD scheme by Government of India.

6. Kanchipuram

The Ancient city of Kanchipuram is located on the banks of the Vegavathy river and famous as city of thousand temples. Kanchipuram is one of the seven sacred cities in India as per Hindu mythology.


7. Kamakhya

Kamakhya Temple dedicated to the mother goddess Kamakhya, Situated on the Nilachal Hill, overlooking the Brahmaputra river near Guwahati city of Assam. This is one of the most important center for Tantra worship hence attracts thousands of devotess during the annual festival of Ambubachi Mela.

8. Mathura

Mathura is known as birth place of Lord Krishna and one of the seven holy pilgrimage cities known as Sapta Puri by Hindus. There are many places of historic and religious importance in Mathura along with Vrindavan.

9. Puri


The coastal town of Puri is known for famous Jagannath Temple and Rath Yatra, also one of the original Char Dham pilgrimage sites for Hindus. Puri has been also chosen as one of the heritage cities for Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana.

10. Varanasi

Varanasi-The oldest city of India

Varanasi city is situated on the bank of river Ganga and has been known by number of names such as Anandvana, Kashi and Bararas. Varanasi is a major religious hub in India and the holiest of the seven sacred cities to Hindu.

11. Gaya


Gaya city is located on the bank of river Falgu and one of the very famous Buddhist pilgrimage center of Bodhgaya. The city has several important heritage sites like Vishnupad temple, Mangla gauri temple and Ramshila temple and also part of the Buddhist circuit under Swadesh Darshan Scheme of India.

12. Vellankani


Vellankani panchayat town of Tamil Nadu is home to most famous Roman Catholic Latin Rite shrine called the Basilica of Our Lady of Good Health. The city has been also chosen as one of the heritage cities for HRIDAY scheme by Government of India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like