Top 12 Most Spoken Languages in India by Speakers

India is home to hundred languages, contains a list of recognises 22 regional languages includes Hindi and other Indian languages. Here is the list of top 10 Indian languages by number of native speakers, As per the 2011 Census of India.

Hindi / हिन्दी (528 millions Speakers)

हिन्दी हमारी मातृभाषा है; मात्र एक भाषा नहीं!

Hindi Divas (हिन्दी दिवस) is celebrated on 14 September, spoken by 366 million people as the original language. Hindi is one of the official languages of India, written in the Devanagari script and fourth most spoken first language in the world.

हिन्दी भारत देश की सबसे अधिक बोली और समझी जाने वाली भाषा है, हालाँकि यह हमारी राष्ट्रभाषा नहीं है परन्तु फिर भी यह विश्व की दस शक्तिशाली भाषाओं में से एक है और सम्पूर्ण भारत के विविध राज्यों में बोली और समझी जाती हैं!


Bengali (97 millions)

Bengali also known as Bangla languages is second most widely spoken out of 22 scheduled languages of India, After Hindi. Bangla or Bengali languages is the official language of West Bengal state and also spoken by some populations in other states of Tripura, Assam and Bihar.

Marathi (83 millions)

Marathi is the third most spoken languages in India and also has one of the largest number of native speakers after Hindi and Bengali. The language of Marathi is also spoken in Goa states as well as some part of neighbouring states of Gujarat and Karnataka.

Telugu (81 millions)

Telugu is a Dravidian language and one of the top five Indian languages with official status in more than one state. Telugu spoken in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana state and also listed as one of six languages designated a classical language of India.

Tamil (69 millions)

Tamil language is also a Dravidian language, spoken by the Tamil people in India, Malaysia and Sri Lanka. The language is an not only one of the official language of India but also Sri Lanka and Singapore.

Gujarati (55 million)

Gujarati language predominantly spoken by the people of Gujarat state and also in the union territories of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli by 55.5 million speaker.

Urdu (उर्दू)

Urdu language is listed as one of the 22 official languages of India with approximately 66 million speakers, spoken in Jammu and Kashmir, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh and Telangana.

Kannada (43 millions)

Kannada is a true Dravidian language spoken in South India, mainly in the state of Karnataka and has roughly 45 million native speakers. Kannada language is also present in other cities of India like Hyderabad, Delhi, Goa and Maharashtra.

Malayalam (38 million)

Malayalam language spoken by the Malayali people and also widely spoken in Gulf countries, has official language status in Kerala state. The Dravidian language is spoken by 38 million people mainly in India and again part of the 6 Indian classical languages.

Odia (37 million)

Oriya or Odia language spoken in Odisha by native speakers and also spoken in some parts of Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand. In 2004, the Government of India declared six Classical languages of India and Odia is one, Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada and Sanskrit being other.


Punjabi language is the native language Punjab and listed as 11th most widely spoken language of India, also one of the most spoken language in Canada.


Assamese language is an official language of Assam state, spoken by 15 million speakers. The Indian state of Assam known for Kamakhya Temple, Bihu festival, Assam tea, Assam silk, one-horned Indian rhinoceros along with the pygmy hog, wild water buffalo and wildlife of Kaziranga National Park.

22 Languages with official Status in India


English is added as daily official work language in India and used in official purposes and communications. There are 22 regional languages of India been recognised by constitution as the scheduled languages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like