15 Distinct Design and Unique Names of Indian Railway Stations

Indian Railways is the fourth largest railway network in the world with 7,216 stations. These railway stations of India offers the unique architecture,distinct names and the interesting history of another era.

Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, Mumbai


Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus Railway Station is a World Heritage Site, knonw for its distinct design and unique architecture, similar revival of Indian Goth architecture.

Madurai Junction Railway Station


Madurai Junction Railway Station serving the city of Madurai in Tamil Nadu is built like famous Meenakshi Temple.

Cuttack Junction Railway Station


Cuttack Junction Railway Station serves Cuttack city of Odisha and the station is built like Barabati fort.

Sarnath Railway Station


Sarnath Railway Station is located near Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh and known for its design elements based on famous Sanchi Stupa.

Velankanni Railway Station, Tamil Nadu


Velankanni Railway Station in Velankanni town of Tamil Nadu lies on the Coromandel Coast and has distinct architecture like the Basilica of Our Lady of Good Health.

Hazur Sahib Nanded Railway Station, Maharashtra


Hazur Sahib Railway Station of Nanded has a distinct design and the structure is built like Hazur Sahib Gurdwara.

Dwarka Railway Station, Gujarat


Dwarka Railway Station of Gujarat is in this list because of the unique structure of the railway station just like famous temples in the town.

Ib Railway Station, Odisha


Ib Railway Station of Odisha derives its name from Ib river and has the shortest name of all stations on the Indian Railways system.

Robertson Railway Station, Chhattisgarh 

Robertson Railway Station of Chhattisgarh is located about 10 km south east from sakti on Howrah line.

Wellington Railway Station

Wellington railway station near Coonoor is part of the Nilgiri Mountain Railway and comes under the Southern Railway.

Singapur Road Railway Station


Singapur Road railway junction is actually read Singapuram Road railway station near Rayagada in Odisha.

Venkatanarasimharajuvaripeta Railway Station


Venkatanarasimharajuvaripeta Railway Station in Andhra Pradesh has the longest name among all stations on the Indian Railway system.

Manwal Railway Station

Manwal Railway Station in Udhampur district of Jammu and Kashmir is the first Green Station in India.

Siliguri Junction Railway Station

Siliguri Junction Railway Station is the only station of India having all three Track Gauges Broad Gauge, Metre Gauge and Narrow Gauge.

Royapuram Railway Station, Tamil Nadu


Royapuram Railway Station is the oldest operational railway station of India at Royapuram network in Chennai. Bombay and Thane were two older stations in India but no longer operational.

Baramulla, Naliya, Kanyakumari and Ledo are respectively the last four railway stations in the North, West, South and East directions of Indian Railways.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like