9 Temples of 9 Devi Durga of Navaratri Festival

Navaratri means nine nights, celebrated in the honor of Goddess Durga during nine nights and ten days. Nine forms of Devi Shakti are worshiped with different rituals, puja and fasting by Hindus and also celebrated all over Nepal. The festival i celebrated for nine nights and each night is dedicated to nine different forms of Shakti or Hindu deity Maa Durga.

Shailputri Temple, Varanasi


Maa Shailputri is worshipped on the very first day of Navratri and is the absolute form of Mother Nature. Shailaputri is the daughter of Himalaya and rides on mount Nandi bull. Shailputri Temple is located Marhia Ghat of Varanasi and another one is at Hedavde Mahalaxmi in Hedavde Village.

Brahmacharini Temple, Varanasi


Goddess Brahmacharini worshipped on the second day of Navratra and The goddess wears white clothes. Brahmacharini means who lives in an Ashrama and a female who pursues the sacred religious knowledge. Varanasi is the only place in India where all the 9 temples of 9 Devi Durga of Navaratri are located.

Chandraghanta Temple, Varanasi


The third aspect of Goddess Durga is Chandraghanta,means half-moon shaped like a bell. Chandraghanta also known as Chandika and goddess of bravery and courage.

Kushmanda Temple, Kanpur


Kushmanda is the fourth form of the goddess Durga, worshiped on the fourth day of the Navratri festival. Ghatampur in Kanpur Nagar district has one of the most famous temple of Kushmanda and one of its own kind in the country.

Skandamata Temple, Varanasi


The 5th day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Skandamata and she is the mother of war god Kartikeya. Skandamata Temple is also located in Varanasi and one of the most famous temple in the city along with Annapurna Devi Mandir.

Katyayani Temple, Karnataka


Katyayini is the daughter of Katyayana and sixth form of goddess Parvati Shakti. Shri Katyayani Baneshwar Temple at Aversa is one of the most popular temple of Kartyayani, other temple also includes Chhatarpur Temple in Delhi,Kartyayani Temple Alappuzha,Sri Katyayani Peeth Temple Vrindavan and Katyayani Temple Kolhapur.

Kalratri Temple, Varanasi


Mother Goddess Kalratri worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri pooja and destroyer of all demon entities. Kaalratri is the goddess of night portion of each day and temple is located in Varanasi.

Mahagauri Temple, Ludhiana


Mahagauri worshipped on the eighth day of Navratri and the Goddess has the power to fulfill all the desires of her devotees. Goddess Mahagauri Devi Temple is situated in Varanasi and in Ludhiana.

Siddhidatri Temple, Sagar


Maa Siddhidatri is the ninth incarnations of Goddess Parvati and the last among the nine forms of Maa Shakti worshiped in Navaratri. Goddess Siddhidatri Mata Temples are situated in Varanasi, Devpahari Chattisgarh,Satna Madhya Pradesh and in Sagar district of Madhya Pradesh.

प्रसिद्ध दुर्गा मंदिर की सूची जानने के लिए यहाँ क्लिक करें.


Navratri DayDayForm of GoddessTithiColour
Navratri Day 1PratipadaShailaputriGhatasthapanaGrey
Navratri Day 2DwitiyaBrahmachariniChandra DarshanOrange
Navratri Day 3TritiyaChandraghantaSindoor TritiyaWhite
Navratri Day 4ChaturthiKushmandaVarad Vinayaka ChauthRed
Navratri Day 5PanchamiSkandamataLalita PanchamiNavy Blue
Navratri Day 6ShashthiKatyayaniMaha ShashtiYellow
Navratri Day 7SaptamiKaalratriMaha SaptamiGreen
Navratri Day 8AshtamiMahagauriDurga AshtamiPeacock Green
Navratri Day 9NavamiSiddhidatriDurga VisarjanPurple


Vaishno Devi also known as Mata Rani is the most popular Durga temple in India located in Katra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like