Five Festive Days of Diwali in India

Diwali also known as the Festival of Lights is a five days Hindu festival, celebrated between mid-October and mid-November. Deepawali or Diwali is the biggest Hindu festival among all, celebrates to victory of the Good over the Evil and Light over Darkness.

The Festival of Lights commemorates the return of Lord Rama to Ayodhya after 14-years of Vanvas other associates events are killing of Narakasura and Return of Pandavas after 12 year. Five Days of Diwali starting from Dhanteras to Bhaiduj but in Maharashtra it starts with Vasu Baras, the cow and calf are worship on this day.

धनतेरस (Dhanteras)


The first day of Diwali festival is named as Dhanteras falls on 13th day of 2nd half of lunar month. Dhanteras is considered as one of the most auspicious day by Hindu to for buying utensils,silver coins,gold and vehicle. Dhanteras is celebrate as birth of Sri Dhanvantari God, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu as the physician of the gods.

नर्क चतुर्दशी (Naraka Chaturdasi)


The second day of Diwali is celebrate as Naraka Chaturdasi or Kali Chaudas, demon Narakasura was killed by Lord Shri Krishna, An Avatar of Lord Vishnu. During the day Hindus get up before the sun rise take a holy bath and then clean or new clothes are worn followed by breakfast with relatives and friends.

(लक्ष्मी पूजा) Lakshmi Puja


The third day of Diwali is known as Lakshmi Puja, the most important day among the five days of festival. Lakshmi Puja is dedicated to Goddess Lakshmi,the Hindu goddess of wealth, fortune, prosperity and the embodiment of beauty.

Lakshmi Mata, the goddess of wealth is worship as Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati and Mahakali with Lord Ganesha, the God of auspicious beginnings with light lamps in the every corner of home to welcome prosperity.

(गोवर्धन पूजा) Govardhan Puja


The fourth day is Diwali is celebrate as Govardhan Puja and Bali Pratipada also known as Padava. Govardhan Puja is celebrated as the day Krishna defeated Indra asked the people to worship nature.

States of Haryana, Punjab, madhya pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar celebrate the festival with zeal and enthusiasm. While Balipratipada or Padava is celebrate in Maharashtra, Tamilnadu and Karanataka.

(भैयादूज) Bhai Dooj


The last day of the five days long Diwali festival end with Bhai Dooj, The day when sisters pray for long and happy lives for their brothers. Bhai Dooj is also called as Yama Dwitiya,Bhai Tika or Bhai Bij, brothers and sisters share their love for each other with an Aarti,meal and gifts.

After celebrating the festival of Diwali Hindu celebrates Devotthan Ekadasi also known as Prabodhini Ekadashi, on the eleventh day of half of the Hindu month of Kartik.

Devotthan Ekadashi (देवउठनी एकादशी) and Tulsi Vivah (तुलसी विवाह)


Devotthan Ekadashi is celebrate to awake the Lord Vishnu and the beginning of the Hindu wedding season. It is also known as the festival of lights of the gods and it  marks the end of the four long month of Chaturmas, when marriages are prohibited as per Hindu traditions. Tulsi Vivah is marriage ceremony of holy plant Tulsi with the Incarnation of Hindu god Lord Vishnu. This is mark as the beginning of the Hindu wedding season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like