9 Official Operating Stock Exchanges in India by SEBI

Stock exchange is a facility that offers option to buy and sell of shares of stock and bonds to brokers and traders. There are currently only 9 official operating commodity and stock exchanges in India listed by SEBI.

Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE), Mumbai

Bombay Stock Exchange is the oldest stock exchange of India, located at Dalal Street of Mumbai and 10th largest stock exchange in the world. BSE also established India INX, First international stock exchange of India.

National Stock Exchange of India (NSE), Mumbai

NSE is a leading stock exchange of India, listed as the world’s 11th-largest stock exchange and has a total market capitalization of US$2.27 trillion. National Stock Exchange of India used Nifty 50 index and the system offers easy trading facility for traders.

Calcutta Stock Exchange, Kolkata


Calcutta Stock Exchange located at the Lyons Range is the second oldest exchange in India also in South Asia. BSE acquiring 5% of shares in Calcutta Stock Exchange and short form of is Calcutta Stock Exchange CSE.

India International Exchange, GIFT City

India INX is an international stock exchange, located at GIFT City in Gujarat and a subsidiary of BSE. The India International Exchange was inaugurated by PM Narendra Modi on 2017 and is the world’s fastest exchange that operates 22 hours a day.

Multi Commodity Exchange

The Multi Commodity Exchange is a commodity based exchange in India, offers options trading in gold and commodities. The MCX exchange was regulated by the Forward Markets Commission and the commodities traded include Metal, Energy, oil and Gold.

NSE International Exchange, Gandhinagar

NSE International Exchange in Gandhinagar incorporated on 2016 and a fuly owned subsidiary of National Stock Exchange of India. The International NSE operating in the GIFT IFSC, offer trading in securities in Indian rupee.

Indian Commodity Exchange

Indian Commodity Exchange or ICEX is SEBI regulated Commodity derivative exchange, offers investment platform and trading platform for brokers. ICEX shareholders include Punjab National Bank, Indiabulls Housing Finance, Gujarat Agro and Reliance Exchangenext.

Metropolitan Stock Exchange

Metropolitan Stock Exchange is the eight stock exchanges of India recognised by SEBI, offers electronic platform for trading against Indian public sector banks, financial institutions and also known as MCX Stock Exchange.

National Commodity and Derivatives Exchange

National Commodity and Derivatives Exchange is another independent commodity exchange that trade in commodity derivatives and has 848 registered members. NCDEX offers trading on terminals across the major Indian cities.

SEBI – Securities and Exchange Board of India

SEBI is owned by the Government of India, is the regulatory body for the Indian securities market and managed by its members. FMC was the regulatory body for the Commodity trading in India and now FMC was merged with the Securities and Exchange Board of India.


Above is the list of Former stock exchanges, closed by year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like