Top 8 Most Beautiful Racecourses in India

Horse racing in India that also involve betting as a sport and industry has a mixture of both pool betting and traditional bookmakers. Today the sport is over 200 years old and Indian breed race horses are used in racing, India is well known for best breed of stallions.

Kolkata Race Course (Royal Calcutta Turf Club)

Kolkata Race Course is the largest horse Racecourses in India by size and maintained by the Royal Calcutta Turf Club. The races usually held from November to March during the weekend and other public holidays.

Royal Calcutta Turf Club is a famous horse racing organization in India that operates the Kolkata Race Course. The Calcutta Turf Club organized and regulate all aspects of horse racing in Calcutta and also maintain the largest horse race venue in India called Kolkata Race Course.

Mahalaxmi Racecourse (Royal Western India Turf Club)

Mahalaxmi Racecourse in neighbourhood of Mumbai is a oval shaped horse racing track spread over approximately 225 acres of open land facing the sea in the heart of city. The racecourse conduct horse racing season from November to April and known as Indian Derby, a Thoroughbred horse race.

Pune Race Course (Royal Western India Turf Club)

Pune Race Course is located in Pune Cantonment area and managed by Royal Western India Turf Club. The 2.8-kilometer long racecourse open for public as a jogging track and used for racing during the season from July to October.

Royal Western India Turf Club runs the Mahalaxmi Racecourse in Mumbai and the Pune Race Course, conducts racing in both the horse racing venues in Maharashtra. Indian Derby is annual Thoroughbred horse race held at the Mahalaxmi Racecourse in Mumbai and one of the
premier horse racing in India.

Guindy Race Course (Madras Race Club)

Guindy Race Course is managed by Madras Race Club and is the oldest race course in India. The horse racing venue hosts events in the winter season from November till March later the races are conducted in Ooty.

Ooty Racecourse (Madras Race Club)

Ooty Racecourse was mainly built for summer horse racing in India between April and June. The highland race course is spread over 55 acres of land in the centre of Ooty and is one of the most famous race courses in India.

Bangalore Race Course (Bangalore Turf Club)


Bangalore Race Course of Bangalore Turf Club is an oval shaped course and considered as one of the best racecourse in the country. The Bangalore Race Course is home or stabling for over 1000 horses also started operation of the combined Jackpot Pool along with Turf Authorities of RWITC, RCTC and Madras Race Club.

Mysore Race Course (Bangalore Turf Club)

Mysore Race Course is home of Mysore Derby and the racing season starts from November to February and again from May to July. The Race Course is now affiliated and run by Bangalore Race Club or Bangalore Turf Club.

Hyderabad Racecourse (Hyderabad Race Club)

Hyderabad Racecourse and race track at Malakpet are managed by Hyderabad Race Club and one of the top racecourses in India. Horse racing in Hyderabad is known as Deccan Derby or Indian Thoroughbred horse race, also called as Monsoon races and Winter races with respect to
conducted season.

The Gymkhana Club at Jorhat in Assam is popular sports venue for horse races, golf course, polo circuit and lawn tennis grass courts. There are famous and notable Golf course in India which are home to some fine professional golfers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like