India’s Largest National Highway Development Projects

The Golden Quadrilateral and NSEW corridor are the two largest express highways projects of Indian National highway system. GQ express highways connects four largest metro cities Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and NS-EW corridor express ways connects Srinagar to Kanyakumari and Porbandar to Silchar. The project was launched by Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 2001 and it is the fifth longest highway project in the world.

The Golden Quadrilateral And NS-EW Corridor Along With Port Connectivity Highways


Golden Quadrilateral Facts

The four lane GQ highway network is completed in January 2012 and now the existing four-laned highways will be converted into six-lane highways.

The Mumbai-Pune Express way is the first controlled-access toll road in India and is a part of the GQ highway Project.

Vadodara to Surat section of NH 8 is completed and now its 6 lanes wide express way with safety features such as guardrails, shoulders, and high-visibility signs.

The Golden Quadrilateral express highways pass through 13 states of India and connects other top Indian cities such as Bangalore, Pune, Ahmedabad,Udaipur,Allahabad, Visakhapatnam,Bhubaneshwar,Kanchipuram and Durgapur.

Total Length is 5,846 km with four major routes:
Delhi – Kolkata – 1,453 km
Kolkata – Chennai – 1,684 km
Chennai-Mumbai – 1,290 km
Mumbai-Delhi – 1,419 km

NS–EW Corridor Status


The four to six lane express ways connecting Srinagar to Kanyakumari and  Porbandar  to Silchar, 85 Percent work of North–South & East–West Corridor is completed.

Jhansi is the junction of North–South and East–West Corridors and four stretches are common between the Golden Quadrilateral  the NS-EW Corridors.

The NS-EW Corridor passes from 17 states and from Delhi, the National Capital Territory of India along with other states capitals such as Srinagar, Hyderabad,Bangalore, Lucknow and Dispur

Total Length of NS–EW Corridor is 7,300 km with two routes:
North – South – 4,000 km
East – west – 3,300 km

Port Connectivity Project


The Golden Quadrilateral and NS-EW Corridor forms a key part in the port connectivity highways projects. Port connectivity highways will connect all the major 12 sea ports of India, The ports will connect through the spur routes. Major sea port of India are Kandla,JNPT,Marmagao,New Mangalore Port, Cochin, Tuticorin, Chennai, Visakhapatnam, Paradip and Haldia.
Out of total 380 km length, 368 km of Port Connectivity highways are already completed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like